Another great actor has passed away…

Another of my favourite English TV-actors has passed away. This time it’s the unforgettable Edward Hardwicke or as I know him Dr Watson that has left us.

from the Granada series Sherlock (Jeremy Brett) and dr Watson (Edward Hardwicke)

I loved the Granada Sherlock Holmes series with Edward and Jeremy Brett. I used to think it was because it was the one I grew up watching but it’s still by far my favourite. I like the interaction between Edward and Jeremy they seem to me very proud to play these roles and do so very much as I imagined Holmes and Watson. Which is so far from today’s “perfect” people.

I had already thought of rereading the books this summer because I’ve had enough of “modern” mystery books they lack a certain well mystery to me. Ok I do have modern favourite mystery writers like Denise Mina but somehow I always end up with those old fashioned books. I tried to modernise my reading but somehow I always end up reading the old classics anyway. I suspect it might be time for me to realise I am a boring old person that actually like those kind of books and read them with great pleasure.

I think this is an apt time to plan another visit to Baker street 221B it’s some time since I was there last. It might be the cutest and most fun museum I have ever had the pleasure to visit. I heartily recommend it and why not take a stroll down Baker street it’s jolly nice if the weather permits.

The Sherlock Holmes museum

 http://www.sherlock-holmes.co.uk/  (the museum home page)

Author: skunkpirat

Current occupation is student in Gothenburg Sweden. At the moment I'm finishing my second thesis. My main subject is Literature, but I have dabbled with other subjects like gender studies, e-book creation and media studies, creative writing. I love to write, it's my dream and my therapy I try to remain actively writing as best I can. Not in any particular genres, just whatever feels interesting. At the moment my Dollhouse Blog based on my Asian Ball Jointed Doll characters takes up most of my blogging time.

Leave a Reply

