School’s out for summer..

So this was the last day of school for the summer but it also marks the first year completed, it feels nice.  It has been a good year and I have learnt a lot of things and met new people as it should be really. Perhaps I have surprised myself with good grades but that just adds to the reward at the end.  I have had the best start I could ever ask for now it’s up to me to complete the rest as good as I can. Right now though I’m going to slip into vacation mood because for once I feel like I deserve it.

As much as I had hoped to be only happy for the day I also must continue this documentation of people passing away. This time it’s Roy Skelton that has passed onto the other side. For me he’s known as Daleks, Cyberman and Krotons in the classical Who series.

Daleks from the episode Revelation of the Daleks (1985)
Daleks from "Revelation of the Daleks" (85)

I have been watching classical Who as a search for better understanding of the series and so the connection with this loss was vivid in mind. Seems a lot of the old faithful gang is leaving us with a cultural void that’s in my opinion not filled. I feel that culture is extremely underestimated and is taken very much for granted. I don’t think many people realise that those things you grew up with watching is forming your life and choices. No matter what it was that stuck with you it will be there always. Culture is so much more than the usual snobbery. Why should so few tell us others what culture is?

I see no reason for that. It’s very much like religion a personal matter, something only you know. Some people share interests and some don’t.

I have to end today’s post with the quotation from my song of the day: Tyr- Shadow of the swastika.

You can shove the sins of your father where no light may pass

and kiss my Scandinavian ass”

Author: skunkpirat

Current occupation is student in Gothenburg Sweden. At the moment I'm finishing my second thesis. My main subject is Literature, but I have dabbled with other subjects like gender studies, e-book creation and media studies, creative writing. I love to write, it's my dream and my therapy I try to remain actively writing as best I can. Not in any particular genres, just whatever feels interesting. At the moment my Dollhouse Blog based on my Asian Ball Jointed Doll characters takes up most of my blogging time.

1 thought on “School’s out for summer..”

Leave a Reply

