My birthday

Many happy returns to me!

It’s that time again. It’s been an emotional year for many reasons, mostly for the better. I just started a course in artistic writing and I’m deadly excited to be back creating again. I want to thank all who have supported me, kept telling me to be creative or just kept my mood up. I’m deeply grateful and every little thing means a lot. From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!

“Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” – Marcel Proust

I have a special tradition on this my day and that is to watch some Tim Burton films, because he is one of my favourite directors and we share birthday. I usually post his short film Vincent on this day, it’s becoming a thing, for we match well, but also it’s my favourite. This fandom is getting old, first time I remember talking about his movies… Oh yeah, sometime during the early 90’s. Yes, it seems those two years will forever dance together.

I know this by heart 

 

While on the subject, other Burton Films I enjoy:

Big Fish – Life stories, quirky trees and true love. What’s not to like?

Sleepy Hollow – A traditional tale with a proper gothic feeling.

Corpse Bride – An animation of a Victorian marriage made complicated.

Edward Scissorhands – Still breaks my heart that they just left him alone up there. Not a happy ending.

I haven’t seen Big Eyes yet, I must do that as soon as. I was very fascinated with that art when I was younger. I have thought about why Burton fascinates me so, I found this quote the other day that gives one clue as to why I might feel a connection.

Tim Burton quote

Resonates with my feelings

Another thing that’s becoming a thing now is museum selfies. This one is from yesterday’s school trip to the exhibition Watched! at Hasselblad center in Gothenburg

museumselfie

 

Thank you all for making this long day even more beautiful with your congratulations, gifts, food, cake and dreams!

 

Be the reason people you love blossom!

 

The stillness

Value without currency

Your face

In our reflection

[…]

The dark flower

Passion hidden in view

hold it to your breast

let it tick-tock a life away

Close to you

For all I see

Is that dark flower

most precious to me

And a life fulfilled

Author: skunkpirat

Current occupation is student in Gothenburg Sweden. At the moment I'm finishing my second thesis. My main subject is Literature, but I have dabbled with other subjects like gender studies, e-book creation and media studies, creative writing. I love to write, it's my dream and my therapy I try to remain actively writing as best I can. Not in any particular genres, just whatever feels interesting. At the moment my Dollhouse Blog based on my Asian Ball Jointed Doll characters takes up most of my blogging time.

Leave a Reply

